Self Help

Queer : the ultimate LGBTQ guide for teens book cover

Queer : the ultimate LGBTQ guide for teens

Belge, Kathy, author.

306.766 /Belge
LGBTQ+, Nonfiction, Young Adult, Self Help

Belge and Bieschke give LGBTQ teenagers everything they need to know about dating, coming out, safe sex, dealing with queerphobia, and standing up for their rights. This revised edition is a must-have for all teens who think they might be queer, or know someone who is. -- adapted from back cover.

Candice's picture

Added by Candice

The queer advantage : conversations with LGBTQ+ leaders on the power of identity book cover

The queer advantage : conversations with LGBTQ+ leaders on the power of identity

Gelwicks, Andrew, author.

306.76 /Gelwicks
LGBTQ+, Nonfiction, Memoir, Self Help

"Collecting incisive, deeply personal conversations with LGBTQ+ trailblazers about how they leveraged the challenges and insights they had as relative outsiders to succeed in the worlds of business, tech, politics, Hollywood, sports and beyond, The Queer Advantage celebrates the unique, supercharged power of queerness"--

Candice's picture

Added by Candice

Why Buddhism is true : the science and philosophy of meditation and enlightenment book cover

Why Buddhism is true : the science and philosophy of meditation and enlightenment

Robert Wright

294.342 /Wright
Nonfiction, Self Help, Health, Science, Philosophy

Author Robert Wright shows how Buddhist meditative practice can loosen the grip of anxiety, regret, and hatred, and deepen your appreciation of beauty and other people. -- Adapted from book jacket.

Mykle's picture

A fantastic look at the scientific aspects of Buddhism, specifically mindfulness meditation. -Mykle

Big feelings : how to be okay when things are not okay book cover

Big feelings : how to be okay when things are not okay

Liz Fosslien

152.4 /Fosslien
Nonfiction, Health, Self Help

We all experience unwieldy feelings. But between our emotion-phobic society and the debilitating uncertainty of modern times, we usually don't know how to talk about what we're going through, much less handle it. Over the past year, Liz Fosslien and Mollie West Duffy’s online community has laughed and cried about productivity guilt, pandemic anxiety, and Zoom fatigue. Now, Big Feelings addresses anyone intimidated by oversized feelings they can't predict or control, offering the tools to understand what's really going on, find comfort, and face the future with a sense of newfound agency. Weaving surprising science with personal stories and original illustrations, each chapter examines one uncomfortable feeling—like envy, burnout, and anxiety—and lays out strategies for turning big emotions into manageable ones. You’ll learn: • How to end the cycle of intrusive thoughts brought on by regret, and instead use this feeling as a compass for making decisions • How to identify what’s behind your anger and communicate it productively, without putting people on the defensive • Why we might be suffering from perfectionism even if we feel far from perfect, and how to detach your self-worth from what you do Big Feelings helps us understand that difficult emotions are not abnormal, and that we can emerge from them with a deeper sense of meaning. We can’t stop emotions from bubbling up, but we can learn how to make peace with them.

Melody's picture

Alright, so I'm only through the introduction, but what drew me to this book is the title itself: Big Feelings. I've heard this term used within the mental health field as well as with children trying to learn what their emotions are telling them. I am already finding it useful. Seeing a mood chart anyone can draw on their own, and reading that one cannot deal with big feelings until they unpack them, makes me look forward to delving in to the triggers they discuss. The simple and relatable illustrations also describe what words cant. Looking forward to digging in. -Melody

Courage is calling : fortune favors the brave book cover

Courage is calling : fortune favors the brave

Ryan Holiday

179.6 /Holiday
Classics, Self Help

"From Ryan Holiday, the New York Times bestselling author of Stillness Is the Key, The Obstacle Is the Way, and Ego Is the Enemy, comes the first book in a four-book series about Stoic virtues: courage, temperance, justice, and wisdom. As Ryan Holiday wrote in his previous books, Stoicism is a philosophy for the people. Stoicism isn't fraught with complexities, contradictions, or circular arguments about the meaning of life. Rather, Stoicism offers practical, rich guidance about how to achieve imperturbability, strength, perspective, and goodness. At the heart of Stoicism are four simple virtues: courage, temperance, justice, and wisdom. The whole philosophy can be condensed into those four bullet points. Everything else, Marcus Aurelius, Seneca, Epictetus, and countless other Stoics believed, flows from these virtues. In Courage Is Calling, Ryan Holiday breaks down the most foundational virtue of all -- courage. Through engaging stories about historic and contemporary leaders, including Winston Churchill, Barack Obama, and Eleanor Roosevelt, as well as some lesser known but equally as remarkable people, Holiday shows you how to practice courage in your daily life."

Paul's picture

A very accessible and quick read that really covers the subject of courage from the Stoic viewpoint quite well. A good prescription to help navigate and conduct one's self in these more than "interesting times." -Paul

Permission to feel : unlocking the power of emotions to help our kids, ourselves, and our society thrive book cover

Permission to feel : unlocking the power of emotions to help our kids, ourselves, and our society thrive

Marc A. Brackett

152.4 /Brackett
Self Help

"Marc Brackett is a professor in Yale University's Child Study Center and founding director of the Yale Center for Emotional Intelligence. In his 25 years as an emotion scientist, he has developed a remarkably effective plan to improve the lives of children and adults -- a blueprint for understanding our emotions and using them wisely so that they help, rather than hinder, our success and well-being. The core of his approach is a legacy from his childhood, from an astute uncle who gave him permission to feel. He was the first adult who managed to see Marc, listen to him, and recognize the suffering, bullying, and abuse he'd endured. And that was the beginning of Marc's awareness that what he was going through was temporary. He wasn't alone, he wasn't stuck on a timeline, and he wasn't "wrong" to feel scared, isolated, and angry. Now, best of all, he could do something about it."--Amazon.

Beth's picture

Added by Beth

You are your best thing : vulnerability, shame resilience, and the Black experience -- an anthology book cover

You are your best thing : vulnerability, shame resilience, and the Black experience -- an anthology

152.44 /You
Black Lives Matter, Self Help

This stark, potent collection of essays on Black shame and healing present a space to be vulnerable and affirm the fullness of Black love and Black life. They allow readers to recognize and process the trauma of sexual assault, and white supremacy and sexual assault, in order to work toward healing. Through lived experiences, we can work to dismantle oppressive systems-- of all types-- in this country. -- adapted from jacket and Introduction.

Victoria's picture

I've read much of Brené Brown's work, but I think this one is my favorites so far because it builds on her framework in a different way. These essays lay out what vulnerability, shame resilience and determination can look like in BIPOC places and spaces. By cracking open who can authentically feel and more importantly learn to thrive by being vulnerable and succeeding despite what has happened to them in the past, her contributing authors offer insight and solace for the reader. The reader can feel more resonance with the authenticity of her work in a way they may never have been able to before. As we begin to see each other on a spectrum of cultural experiences, backgrounds, social statuses, mental health and gender, we have a greater capacity to learn, empathize, communicate and share in each other's vulnerabilities. I loved this book! -Victoria

Broken: (in the best possible way) book cover

Broken: (in the best possible way)

Jenny Lawson

2nd Floor Shelf BIOGRAPHY/Lawson, Jenny
Humor, Self Help

As Jenny Lawson's hundreds of thousands of fans know, she suffers from depression. In Broken (in the best possible way), she explores her experimental treatment of transcranial magnetic stimulation with brutal honesty. But also with brutal humor: "People do different things to distract themselves during each treatment. I embroider. It feels fitting. I'm being magnetically stabbed in the head thousands of times as I'm stabbing the embroidery myself. I don't embroider the same patterns my grandmother did. I embroider girls with octopus faces, David Bowie, a flowery bouquet with FUCK YES written in the middle. They let you do anything as long as it's 'positive.'" Jenny discusses the frustration of dealing with her insurance company in "An Open Letter to My Insurance Company," which should be an anthem for anyone who has ever had to call their insurance company to try and get a claim covered. On the lighter side, she tackles such timelessly debated questions as "How do dogs know they have penises?" We see how her vacuum cleaner almost set her house on fire, how she was attacked by three bears, business ideas she wants to pitch to Shark Tank, and why she can never go back to the post office. Of course, Jenny's long-suffering husband Victor-the Ricky to Jenny's Lucille Ball-is present throughout. A treat for Jenny Lawson's already existing fans, and destined to convert new ones, Broken is a beacon of hope and a wellspring of laughter.

Victoria's picture

Thank you Jenny Lawson for another hilarious, mortifying and insightful sojourn into your wacky and entirely relatable world. Lawson hits all of the important things you may have thought about yourself but have never admitted out loud. I definitely received some suspicious looks on the bus ride home for giggling to myself- not sorry! Fallible is the new flawless y'all! Fans of David Sedaris, Allie Brosh and Samantha Irby will appreciate this one. -Victoria

The bullet journal method : track the past, order the present, design the future book cover

The bullet journal method : track the past, order the present, design the future

Ryder Carroll

640.43 /Carroll
Self Help, Philosophy

For years Carroll tried countless organizing systems, online and off, but none of them fit the way his mind worked. He developed the Bullet Journal, and it helped him become consistently focused and effective. Now he shows readers how the Bullet Journal method can help you weed out distractions and focus your time and energy in pursuit of what's truly meaningful, in both your work and your personal life. -- adapted from back cover

Casey's picture

The Bullet Journal Method is a great way to get organized as we move into 2021. I'm so glad I've re-read it throughout this year, and am heading back to tackle a few sections once more before the New Year. -Casey

The 5 love languages of teenagers book cover

The 5 love languages of teenagers

Gary D. Chapman

649.125 /Chapman
Self Help

Starting with the world in which your teenager livers, Dr. Chapman walks through the emotional needs of teenagers and how you can best express your love to them.

Anne W's picture

Added by Anne W