Graphic Novels

Stepping stones book cover

Stepping stones

Lucy Knisley

jGRAPHIC NOVEL Knisley
Kids, Graphic Novels

"Jen moves out to the country and has to put up with her mom and her mom's new boyfriend, as well as his kids. Suddenly part of a larger family in a new place, Jen isn't sure there is a place for her in this different world."--

Angie's picture

Beautifully illustrated sweet graphic novel that almost anyone can relate to. The realness of the subject matter made this a quick and enjoyable read. I can't wait for my hold on the second book in the series comes in! -Angie

Miss Quinces book cover

Miss Quinces

Kat Fajardo

jGRAPHIC NOVEL Fajardo
Diverse Characters, Graphic Novels

"Sue just wants to spend the summer reading and making comics at sleepaway camp with her friends, but instead she gets stuck going to Honduras to visit relatives with her parents and two sisters. They live way out in the country, which means no texting, no cable, and no Internet! The trip takes a turn for the worse when Sue's mother announces that they'll be having a surprise quinceera for Sue, which is the last thing she wants. She can't imagine wearing a big, floofy, colorful dress! What is Sue going to do? And how will she survive all this "quality" time with her rambunctious family?"--

Mari's picture

Fans of Raina Telgemeier and Victoria Jamieson will love this funny coming-of-age story about family, friendship and expressing your true self! -Mari

Took : a ghost story graphic novel book cover

Took : a ghost story graphic novel

Mary Downing Hahn

jGRAPHIC NOVEL Hahn
Horror, Graphic Novels

"They say that a ghost witch lives in the woods, up on Brewster's Hill. They say her companion, Bloody Bones, has a pig skull for a face and stands taller than a man, his skeleton gleaming white in the moonlight. They say that the witch takes young girls, and no one ever sees them again. Daniel doesn't believe the stories about the witch or her beast. He figures the kids on the bus are just trying to scare him, since he's new. But when his sister, Erica, disappears into the woods one day and doesn't come home, Daniel knows something is terribly wrong. Has Erica been 'took'?"--Back cover.

Mari's picture

The two most common requests I hear on the bookmobile are "where are your comics," and "do you have any scary books?" Mary Downing Hahn has always been a favorite of mine for ghost stories, so I was so excited to see one of her novels turned into a graphic novel. This creepy story is even creepier with illustrations! And now it can reach a whole new audience of kids who enjoy graphic novels! -Mari

The complete Chi's sweet home book cover

The complete Chi's sweet home

Kanata Konami

jMANGA Konami Chi's Complete
Kids, Graphic Novels, Animals, Humor

"Chi is a mischievous newborn kitten who, while on a leisurely stroll with her family, finds herself lost. Separated from the warmth and protection of her mother, feels distraught. Overcome with loneliness she breaks into tears in a large urban park meadow, when she is suddenly rescued by a young boy named Yohei and his mother. The kitty is then quickly and quietly whisked away into the warm and inviting Yamada family apartment where pets are strictly not permitted."

Casey's picture

I'm so happy this series was released again. If you're in the mood for some funny kitten antics, Chi's waiting! -Casey

Otto : a palindrama book cover

Otto : a palindrama

Jon Agee

jGRAPHIC NOVEL Agee
Graphic Novels, Kids

"A graphic novel told entirely in palindromes about a young boy named Otto who goes on a strange and fantastical adventure while searching for his dog, Pip"--

Angie's picture

Otto: A Palindrama is HILARIOUS! The entire thing is created out of palindromes and is set up as a story within a story. So if you love word play, check out this new graphic novel. It will tickle your funny bone and give you some new ammunition for those Palindrome contests. -Angie

Chef's kiss book cover

Chef's kiss

Jarrett Melendez

GRAPHIC NOVEL Melendez
LGBTQ+, Graphic Novels

Watch things start to really heat up in the kitchen in this sweet, queer, new adult graphic novel! Now that college is over, English graduate Ben Cook is on the job hunt looking for something...anything...related to his passion for reading and writing. But interview after interview, hiring committee after hiring committee, Ben soon learns getting the dream job won't be as easy as he thought. Proofreading? Journalism? Copywriting? Not enough experience. It turns out he doesn't even have enough experience to be a garbage collector! But when Ben stumbles upon a Now Hiring--No Experience Necessary sign outside a restaurant, he jumps at the chance to land his first job. Plus, he can keep looking for a writing job in the meantime. He's actually not so bad in the kitchen, but he will have to pass a series of cooking tests to prove he's got the culinary skills to stay on full-time. But it's only temporary...right? When Ben begins developing a crush on Liam, one of the other super dreamy chefs at the restaurant, and when he starts ditching his old college friends and his old writing job plans, his career path starts to become much less clear.

Frannie's picture

What an absolute delight to read! I have a lot of feels for looking for a job straight out of college, figuring out young adulthood, all while trying to navigate roommates, identity, and family. Come for the food writing, stay for the light romance. -Frannie

Star Wars. The High Republic book cover

Star Wars. The High Republic

Cavan Scott

COMIC Star Wars High
Graphic Novels, Science Fiction

"A new era of Star Wars storytelling begins! Journey back to the High Republic -- the golden age of the Jedi! Centuries before the Empire and the Skywalker saga, the Jedi are at their height, protecting the galaxy as Republic pioneers push out into new territories. But as the frontier prepares for the dedication of the majestic Starlight Beacon, Padawan Keeve Trennis faces the ultimate choice -- will she complete her Jedi trials, or rescue the innocent from disaster? And can she trust her closest ally? Enter a rich and vast world of new Jedi! New worlds! New ships! And new evils to fight -- including the terrifying Nihil!"--Amazon.

Brian's picture

I've been evangelical about The High Republic, though, I have to admit that the comic has been the weakest link so far. There seems to be a weird disconnect between what happens in the books vs. the comics. It seems like I wouldn't recommend it, but it features some of the best characters of the High Republic era and great art throughout. -Brian

Escape at 10,000 feet : D.B. Cooper and the missing money book cover

Escape at 10,000 feet : D.B. Cooper and the missing money

Tom (Writer of children's books) Sullivan

jGRAPHIC NOVEL Sullivan
Graphic Novels

"A minute-by-minute account of the only unsolved airplane hijacking in the United States uses reproductions of FBI files and investigation photographs to chronicle the events surrounding an unidentified extortionist's 1971 hijacking and disappearance."--Provided by publisher.

Anne W's picture

I don't understand why every person alive does not want to read this incredibly compelling, suspenseful nonfiction graphic novel about the ONLY UNSOLVED AIRPLANE HIJACKING IN HISTORY??? (Don't worry, no innocent bystanders were hurt.) Without giving you any spoilers, let me just say that this story is mind-blowing on a NUMBER of levels and you will want to get to the bottom of this immediately. Until you're old enough to join the FBI, start by reading this graphic novel. -Anne W

Junji Ito's cat diary : Yon & Mu book cover

Junji Ito's cat diary : Yon & Mu

Junji Itō

MANGA Ito
Graphic Novels

"Hell-o-kitty! Master of Japanese horror manga Junji Ito presents a series of hissterical tales chronicling his real-life trials and tribulations of becoming a cat owner. Junji Ito, as J-kun, has recently built a new house and has invited his financée, A-ko, to live with him. Little did he know ... his blushing bride-to-be has some unexpected company in tow--Yon, a ghastly-looking family cat, and Mu, an adorable Norwegian forest cat. Despite being a dog person, J-kun finds himself purrsuaded by their odd cuteness and thus begins his comedic struggle to gain the affection of his new feline friends"--Back cover.

Hanna's picture

My co-worker has been reading this book, and it sounds good. Lots of illustrations of cute cats, too! I've been wanting to try reading some graphic novels. It's officially on my list. -Hanna

Jailbreak at Alcatraz : Frank Morris & the Anglin Brothers' great escape book cover

Jailbreak at Alcatraz : Frank Morris & the Anglin Brothers' great escape

Tom (Writer of children's books) Sullivan

jGRAPHIC NOVEL Sullivan
Mystery, Graphic Novels, Kids, True Crime

CASE NO. 002: THE ROCK. June 12, 1962. SAN FRANCISCO BAY, CALIFORNIA. 7:18 A.M. A corrections officer at Alcatraz Federal Penitentiary tries to awaken inmate AZ-1441, Frank Morris. But when he shakes the unresponsive man, his head rolls off the pillow and crashes to the floor! Soon the guards realize that Morris and two other inmates, brothers John and Clarence Anglin, had done the seemingly impossible: escaped from the notorious island prison. This is the incredible true story of the daring and inventive escape and a decades-long manhunt in a case that remains unsolved to this day. Comics panels, reproductions of documents from real FBI files, and photos from the investigation combine for a thrilling read for sleuths of all ages.

Angie's picture

I loved Tom Sullivan's first graphic novel, Escape at 10,000 feet: D.B. Cooper and the missing money, so much that I knew I was going to enjoy his latest historical graphic retelling of a true event! These books are a great read for those reluctant readers in your life or for anyone looking for a good unsolved mystery. -Angie